Deal News! New Metric Media options The Devil You Know

A few weeks ago I had the best conversation ever with Mark Montefiore and Patrick O’Sullivan at New Metric Media, and the end result of that convo is this awesome news: New Metric has optioned television and film rights to The Devil You Know. All the details in the press release below, and rest assured that I am beyond thrilled. Go team!

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

New Metric Media Bolsters Drama Slate with The Devil You Know

Toronto (April 17, 2015) – Burgeoning independent production company New Metric Media is thrilled to announce they have secured the worldwide media rights for THE DEVIL YOU KNOW, the critically acclaimed debut novel by Giller Prize longlisted writer Elisabeth de Mariaffi.

For fans of Gone Girl and Broadchurch, THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is a riveting thriller set in the early 90’s about a rookie reporter assigned to the Paul Bernardo investigation, whose memories and personal research into the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger right back to her doorstep. From one of Canada’s most exciting new literary voices comes a spine-tingling suspense, with a strong female focus and point of view, about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.

New Metric Media is developing the novel as a one-hour continuing drama series, and is currently focusing on bringing on an experienced television writer to adapt, with de Mariaffi serving as consultant.
THE DEVIL YOU KNOW continues New Metric Media’s foray into scripted drama, with McMurray recently announced in development with the CBC, and an upcoming mini-series with another Canadian network to be announced this summer. These go along with a thriving comedy slate, including the production of two series, Letterkenny with Bell Media, and What Would Sal Do? with Superchannel, set to go to camera this summer.

“De Mariaffi delivers the requisite heart-in-mouth moments of pure paranoia, but she balances these thrills with shrewd character studies and the odd nugget of wisdom. Like the words of a mother who explains why women are ravenous readers of true crime stories: It’s not to scare ourselves, ‘it’s so we learn how to get away.’” –New York Times Book Review
“Manages simultaneously to be funny, sweet, hip, and utterly terrifying. Elisabeth de Mariaffi has written a smart, unique thriller.” – Alafair Burke, Author of ALL DAY AND A NIGHT
“The chiseled prose that characterized de Mariaffi’s Giller-longlisted short story collection HOW TO GET ALONG WITH WOMEN is on full display… Mariaffi also nails the callous dehumanization and gallows humor that is a constant of media workplaces.”-The National Post
Elisabeth de Mariaffi is represented by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Agency. THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is published by Harper Collins in Canada, Simon & Schuster in the USA, and Titan Books in the UK.

About New Metric Media

New Metric Media is a film, television, and new media production company founded by Mark Montefiore and Patrick O’Sullivan. New Metric works with top creative talent to produce outstanding film, television, and new media content to entertain the world over. New Metric Media’s past and present projects include the 6x ½ hour comedy series Letterkenny, based on the digital series Letterkenny Problems, for CraveTV/Comedy Network, the 8 x ½ hour comedy series What Would Sal Do? For Superchannel, and the feature film Cas & Dylan, directed by Jason Priestley and starring Academy Award®-winner Richard Dreyfuss and Golden Globe®-nominee Tatiana Maslany. For more information visit http://www.newmetricmedia.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s