Happy UK Book Birthday!

I’m delighted that I REMEMBER YOU — 29178971_1587550478025442_8742270399020007424_nthe UK version of Hysteria, published by Titan Books UK — hits store shelves today! Hysteria has had a fantastic reception here in Canada, and the good vibes are already rolling in from across the pond– witness this great review over at Liz Loves Books.

Heike Lerner has a charmed life. ​​​A stay-at-home mother married to a prominent psychiatrist, it’s a far cry from the​ damaged​ ​child she used to be. But her world is ​shaken when her four-year-old son​ ​befriends a little girl at a nearby lake, who​ vanishes under the water. ​And when Heike dives in after her, there’s no sign of a body.

Desperate to ​discover what happened to the child, Heike​ seeks out Leo Dolan, a television writer exploring the paranormal​, but finds herself caught between her controlling husband and the intense Dolan​. Then her son disappears, and Heike’s husband was the last to see him alive​…​

I Remember You goes on blog tour for the next couple of weeks, so you can expect to see more reviews, some sneak-peek extracts, and even a few guest posts written by yours truly. All the dates, places, and details are listed below.

You can order I Remember You from Amazon UK , or find it in bookstores everywhere… as of today! As for me, I’ll just be over here — celebrating with a cupcake or two. Happy book birthday!

I Remember You blog tour (COMPLETE) 2

Hysteria’s book birthday, plus a first week round-up

Only a week after release, and it’s already been a whirlwind! We had a slam bang launch for Hysteria here in St. John’s — check out some fun photos below! —  and today I woke up to find Hysteria taking up some serious real estate in two of the country’s biggest newspapers:

  • in the Globe & Mail, Claire Cameron investigates some of the reasons behind the different cover — and title! —  in the Canadian and UK editions of the book. Out across the pond on March 27th, Hysteria goes by the name I Remember You in the United Kingdom.
  • in the Toronto Star, hold onto your hats, Hysteria gets a humdinger of a stellar review! How happy am I? Mascara-reapplication-level happy, that’s how happy.

Hope everyone out there is having as good a weekend as I am. Here are some of my favourites from our launch party, at Eastern Edge Gallery here in St. John’s.

Local indie Broken Books was on the scene, pop-up style, to help peddle these wares.

 

Lucky to be reading in a space as lovely as Eastern Edge.

Me with writer Megan Gail Coles, and sister duo Katie and Maria Callahan

 

 

 

City Counsellor Hope Jamieson and family were there to have a good time.

CBC On The Go host Ted Blades with Kathryn King and Holly Hogan

 

Poet (and my sweetheart) George Murray

A very happy author with poet (and friend extraordinaire) Andreae Callanan

MLA Gerry Rogers with the very charming Jean Kelly Smith

 

Deal News! New Metric Media options The Devil You Know

A few weeks ago I had the best conversation ever with Mark Montefiore and Patrick O’Sullivan at New Metric Media, and the end result of that convo is this awesome news: New Metric has optioned television and film rights to The Devil You Know. All the details in the press release below, and rest assured that I am beyond thrilled. Go team!

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

New Metric Media Bolsters Drama Slate with The Devil You Know

Toronto (April 17, 2015) – Burgeoning independent production company New Metric Media is thrilled to announce they have secured the worldwide media rights for THE DEVIL YOU KNOW, the critically acclaimed debut novel by Giller Prize longlisted writer Elisabeth de Mariaffi.

For fans of Gone Girl and Broadchurch, THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is a riveting thriller set in the early 90’s about a rookie reporter assigned to the Paul Bernardo investigation, whose memories and personal research into the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger right back to her doorstep. From one of Canada’s most exciting new literary voices comes a spine-tingling suspense, with a strong female focus and point of view, about secrets long buried and obsession that cannot be controlled.

New Metric Media is developing the novel as a one-hour continuing drama series, and is currently focusing on bringing on an experienced television writer to adapt, with de Mariaffi serving as consultant.
THE DEVIL YOU KNOW continues New Metric Media’s foray into scripted drama, with McMurray recently announced in development with the CBC, and an upcoming mini-series with another Canadian network to be announced this summer. These go along with a thriving comedy slate, including the production of two series, Letterkenny with Bell Media, and What Would Sal Do? with Superchannel, set to go to camera this summer.

“De Mariaffi delivers the requisite heart-in-mouth moments of pure paranoia, but she balances these thrills with shrewd character studies and the odd nugget of wisdom. Like the words of a mother who explains why women are ravenous readers of true crime stories: It’s not to scare ourselves, ‘it’s so we learn how to get away.’” –New York Times Book Review
“Manages simultaneously to be funny, sweet, hip, and utterly terrifying. Elisabeth de Mariaffi has written a smart, unique thriller.” – Alafair Burke, Author of ALL DAY AND A NIGHT
“The chiseled prose that characterized de Mariaffi’s Giller-longlisted short story collection HOW TO GET ALONG WITH WOMEN is on full display… Mariaffi also nails the callous dehumanization and gallows humor that is a constant of media workplaces.”-The National Post
Elisabeth de Mariaffi is represented by Samantha Haywood of Transatlantic Agency. THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is published by Harper Collins in Canada, Simon & Schuster in the USA, and Titan Books in the UK.

About New Metric Media

New Metric Media is a film, television, and new media production company founded by Mark Montefiore and Patrick O’Sullivan. New Metric works with top creative talent to produce outstanding film, television, and new media content to entertain the world over. New Metric Media’s past and present projects include the 6x ½ hour comedy series Letterkenny, based on the digital series Letterkenny Problems, for CraveTV/Comedy Network, the 8 x ½ hour comedy series What Would Sal Do? For Superchannel, and the feature film Cas & Dylan, directed by Jason Priestley and starring Academy Award®-winner Richard Dreyfuss and Golden Globe®-nominee Tatiana Maslany. For more information visit http://www.newmetricmedia.com